The passing of Jerry Brent


We note with profound sadness today the passing of our friend Jerry Brent.

Jerry was unfailingly generous in allowing Mysteries and Conundrums to publish images from his unsurpassed collection of Fredericksburg items.  Indeed, more than a few of our posts were based directly on images Jerry provided us.

He was the executive director of the Central Virginia Battlefields Trust, and so was central to innumerable efforts to preserve battlefield land in the Fredericksburg area.

But more than all that, Jerry was one of the kindest, most cheerful souls you ever wanted to meet.  He was supremely skilled and knowledgeable, but as humble as the day is long.

We will miss him.

5 thoughts on “The passing of Jerry Brent

  1. One of the classiest, most decent guys it has been my privilege to know.

    Jerry made a difference in many lives, those here now, and those who lost their lives 150 years ago. He cared passionately about the blue and the gray,
    and his legacy will live on in the hallowed ground he helped save.

    And SACRED will always be the place where Jerry Brent now goes to rest.

  2. A sad, sad day for Fredericksburg and a huge loss for this community. I counted Jerry among my friends and was honored that he often shared his collection with me – either from a private standpoint or agreeing to one of my many loan requests while I worked as Curator of the Fredericksburg Area Museum and Cultural Center. He will be deeply missed. My thoughts and prayers to his wife Lou at this difficult time.

  3. I am so sorry to read this! He was a great guy! I have many good memories of him and I can’t believe he is gone! My thoughts and prayers go out to Lou and the rest of his family!

Leave a Reply

